Multi-Hazard Mitigation Planning

What is a Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan
Mitigation Plans form the foundation for a community's long-term strategy to reduce losses from natural disaster and break the cycle of disaster damage, reconstruction, and repeated damage. The planning process is as important as the plan itself. It creates a framework for risk-based decision making to potentially reduce damages to lives, property, and the economy from future disasters.

Why Does a Community need a Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan?
State, Indian Tribal, and local governments are required to develop a hazard mitigation plan as a condition for receiving certain types of non-emergency disaster assistance, including funding for mitigation projects. The Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (Public Law 93-288), as amended by the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000, provides the legal basis for State, local, and Indian Tribal governments to undertake a risk-based approach to reducing risks from natural hazards through mitigation planning.

What hazards does the Hazard Mitigation Plan address?
The plan addresses several natural hazards of concern that could impact the communities in the region. These hazards are identified as:

Does my Community have a Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan?
In the MACOG region, all four Counties have FEMA and State approved Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan. These plans are countywide and include the Counties, Cities and Towns. In fact, if the communities do not have a plan, those local governments are not eligible for any federal funding for non-emergency disaster assistance.


Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plans
St. Joseph County (7.30 MB)
Marshall County (5.88 MB)
Kosciusko County (7.97 MB)
Elkhart County (2.16 MB)

 If you have any questions, please contact MACOG at (574) 674-8894 or e-mail us at